hit counter

Who is WWE’s Mr. Survivor Series?

WWE Survivor Series 2022 is less than 72 hours away. This year’s show is stacked, with WarGames’ debut set to take center stage. The likes of Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins and Bianca Belair will star in the series’ debut under Triple H.

As the second longest-running premium live event in WWE, the Thanksgiving Spectacle is steeped in history. Not only has it produced many iconic moments, but there have also been arguably more big name debuts than any other event. Many legends have also made their names for their performances at the event. Do any superstars stand head and shoulders above the rest?

Here are five stars who can claim to be Mr. Survivor Series in WWE

#5: Roman Reigns is arguably this generation’s biggest competitor to Survivor Series

One of the biggest names in WWE history, Roman Reigns has hosted multiple WrestleManias, Summerslams and Royal Rumbles in the Main Event. However, he has a special love story with Survivor Series, having debuted at the event in 2012. He dominated the event, becoming the sole survivor in 2013 and 2019, in addition to champion versus champion wins in 2020 and 2021.

His performance in 2013 in particular was mighty impressive, when he self-eliminated four of the five members of the opposing team. He also won the World Heavyweight Championship Tournament at Survivor Series 2015. Since The Tribal Chief will be the first-ever edition of the war games-themed event, he has a strong claim to the Mr. Survivor Series title.

#4: The Rock has a special love story with the WWE Survivor Series

11 years ago today, @The stone returned to the ring at Survivor Series 2011 for his first WWE match since 2004. https://t.co/pJJAtbIheQ

Also, The Rock is one of the most bankable main eventers in WrestleMania history due to his huge stardom. He won the Royal Rumbles and headlined the Summerslams, but Survivor Series holds a special place in his history. Not only did he make his debut at the 1996 edition and his long-awaited return leg in 2011, he also pinned Stone Cold Steve Austin in 2001 to help WWE beat The Alliance.

The Brahma Bull has many legendary Survivor Series moments, and his 8-2 record at the event means it wouldn’t be out of place to add Mr. Survivor Series to his many titles.

#3: Randy Orton is a WWE Survivor Series Specialist

Randy Orton is a Survivor Series legend, pure and simple. Since his debut at the event in 2003, he has been a key player in the vast majority of traditional 5v5 matches, while also noting individual and tag team success. Orton was the sole survivor in his first three Survivor Series appearances in 2003, 2004 and 2005 before leading winning teams in 2008 and 2016 alongside Cody Rhodes and Bray Wyatt, respectively.

Aside from his incredible success in the event’s signature match, he was also most recently eliminated in 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2012. These are NINE Survivor Series fights where Orton was involved in the finishing sequence. Few men have ever come close to that kind of dominance on the iconic show, and that may be why The Apex Predator is the Mr. Survivor series.

#2: John Cena holds a 9-2 record at the legendary event

The 16-time world champion has found great success at Survivor Series
The 16-time world champion has found great success at Survivor Series

John Cena can claim to be Mr. Everything due to his longevity as the WWE’s top star. He could be Mr. WrestleMania as only one Superstar has won more matches at The Show of Shows. He could be Mr. Royal Rumble, who has witnessed over a decade of iconic moments at this particular event. His Summerslam record is littered with a string of huge losses, but he’s also had a wealth of legendary matches at The Biggest Party Of The Summer.

Survivor Series is no different, as the Cenation leader has won nine of his 11 appearances at the Thanksgiving Spectacle. He’s also been part of legendary moments like the debuts of Sting and The Shield, the return leg of The Rock and winning the world title in his own hometown against Chris Jericho in 2008.

Only one man won more…

#1: The Undertaker made a big mark on Survivor Series history

he Deadmana debuted and retired at The Thanksgiving Spectacle
he Deadmana debuted and retired at The Thanksgiving Spectacle

The Undertaker made his iconic debut in 1990’s WWE Survivor Series with a winning streak. A year later, he won his first WWE World Championship at the 1991 edition, becoming the youngest world champion in history by defeating Hulk Hogan himself. He went on to light the event in various coffin, traditional five-on-five, and buried alive matches and notched up thirteen victories.

The Phenom last competed at the event in 2015, teaming with Kane to defeat Bray Wyatt and Luke Harper. He then bid his farewells in the ring at the 2020 event, which was the main event of the show. The legendary retirement ceremony was a fitting conclusion to an illustrious thirty-year career and a perfect example of why the seven-time World Champion is arguably WWE’s Mr. Survivor Series.

Is Stone Cold Steve Austin Returning To Face Brock Lesnar? A WWE Hall of Famer weighs in. Click here

Poll: Who Had a Better Survivor Series Legacy?

17 votes

Quick links

More from Sportskeeda

Edited by Ashvinkumar Patil

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button