Swimming Pool

Penn State, Indiana Earn weekly awards for men’s swimming and diving

Men’s Swimmer of the Week
Eduardo Cisternas, Penn State
Fr. – La Reina, Chile – Trewhelas School, Athletic Study Center – Major: Liberal Arts

  • Set program and pool records as the Nittany Lions dropped 13th-ranked Virginia Tech
  • Set the McCoy Natatorium and program record for the 1,000 Free with a winning time of 8:56.63, second fastest time in the Big Ten and seventh in the country this season.
  • Seeded another pool in the 500 Free, finished second in 4:18.50, sixth fastest in the conference and beat the NCAA B-Cut qualifying time.
  • Receives his first Swimmer of the Week award.
  • Last Penn State Swimmer of the Week: Michael Daly (Oct. 16, 2019)

Men’s diver of the week
Carson Tyler, Indiana
Sun. – Moultrie, Georgia – Colquitt County – Major:

  • Won the platform jump event in Indiana’s victory over Purdue.
  • Recorded a 423.80 in the event, the country’s best score this season.
  • Fourth in the 1 meter springboard with a score of 342.95.
  • Earned NCAA zone qualifying results in both events.
  • Receives his third Diver of the Week award and first of the season.
  • Last Indiana Diver of the Week: Andrew Capobianco (January 18, 2023)

Men’s Newcomer of the Week
Cooper Morley, Pennsylvania
Fr. – Aukland, New Zealand – Major: Computer Science

  • Scored a win in his first meeting as Nittany Lion.
  • Won the 100 back with a time of 47.41, 12thth fastest time in the Big Ten this season.
  • Added a 5th place in 200 Back and a 6th place in 50 Free.
  • Earns his first Freshman of the Week award.
  • Last Penn State Freshman of the Week: Jake Houck (January 20, 2021)

2022-23 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Weekly Honorees

19 Oct
S: Victor Baganha, PSU
R: Jordan Rzepka, PUR
Q: Mariano Lazzerini, PSU

26 Oct
S: Brendan Burns, IND
R: Quinn Henninger, IND
V: Dominik Torok, WIS

2 Nov
S: Charlie Clark, OSU
D: Jack Matthews, OSU
Q: Tristan Jankovics, OSU

9 Nov
S: Wyatt Davis, ME
D: Cameron Gammage, ME
Q: Eitan Ben-Shitrit, ME

Nov 16
S: Ruslan Gaziev, OSU
D: Clayton Chaplin, OSU
Q: Alex Axon, OSU

Nov 23
S: Ruslan Gaziev, OSU
R: Quinn Henninger, IND
Q: Eitan Ben-Shitrit, ME

Nov 30
No awards

7 Dec
S: Jake Newmark, WIS
D: Drew Bennett, MINN
Q: Alberto Hern√°ndez, MINN

January 4th
S: Andrew Benson, WIS

11th January
D: Drew Bennett, MINN
Q: Drew Bennett, MINN

January 18th
S: Alex Quach, OSU
D: Andrew Capobianco, IND
Q: Sam Campbell, OSU

January 25th
S: Eduardo Cisternas, PSU
D: Carson Tyler, IND
Q: Cooper Morley, PSU


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button