DENVER (KDPR) – The Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network said that every 68 seconds an American is sexually assaulted.
According to RAINN, 1 in 6 American women will be the victim of attempted or completed rape in their lifetime.
“Sexual violence affects hundreds of thousands of Americans every year. Even today, although we are making progress, only 25 out of 1,000 rapists will end up in prison,” RAINN said.
If you are in immediate danger, contact 911 immediately.
“After being sexually assaulted, it’s hard to know how to respond. You may be physically hurt, emotionally drained, or unsure of what to do next. You may be considering working with the criminal justice system, but not sure where to start. Learning more about what steps to take after sexual violence can help ground you during a difficult time,” RAINN said.
National Sexual Assault Hotline
The National Sexual Assault Hotline has a variety of ways to help you. Whether you are looking for support, advice, information or a referral, the hotline will help you.
- Phone: 1-800-656-HOPE (4673)
- Chat: Trained specialists can chat with you online
- Chatbot: Iris can help with resources, recommendations, and information
The hotline says it will do the following:
- Confidential support from a trained support specialist
- Someone to help you talk about what happened
- Resources to assist you in your next steps toward healing and recovery
- Recommendations for long-term support in your area
- Information about the laws and resources in your community
There are 24 local centers for victims of sexual assault and sexual abuse in Colorado:
Consent Laws in Colorado
Here are the consent laws in Colorado, according to RAINN:
- “Consent” means engaging in an act or attitude in accordance with an exercise of free will and with knowledge of the nature of the act. Revised Colorado Bylaws, annotating § 18-3-401(1.5).
- A current or past relationship is not sufficient to constitute consent under the provisions of this Part 4.
- Submission to fear does not constitute consent.
- Age of Consent: 17 years old or 15 years old if the actor is less than four years older.
- Developmental disabilities and/or intellectual disability do not affect the victim’s ability to consent
- Unconsciousness falls within the definition of “physically helpless” and therefore the actor may be guilty of sexual assault and/or unlawful sexual contact if the victim is unconscious and the actor knows the victim is unconscious and the victim did not consent.
- More information on consent laws can be found here
RAINN said sexual violence is an all-encompassing, non-legal term that refers to crimes such as sexual assault, rape and sexual abuse. Here’s a resource that can help you if you’ve been affected by sexual violence.