hit counter

How to play the Final Fantasy Ivalice Alliance games in chronological order

It’s hard to imagine a franchise that puts so much effort into creating massive, immersive worlds full of compelling characters final fantasy. With that quality comes complexity. Worlds can be tricky to navigate at times, and some get a little lost in the lore. The sheer scope of these worlds means they often expand into other games and even other media. For example, the Fabula Nova Crystallis series started with Final Fantasy 13 however, spanned a total of seven titles across multiple platforms. Previously there was the Ivalice Alliance series, based on the complex timeline and world of Ivalice.


Ivalice was first introduced in 1997 Final Fantasy Tactics for the PS1. Video game designer Yasumi Matsuno created Ivalice as a world where magic and machines merge, allowing the two to coexist. This mix of medieval environments with machines and technology gives Ivalice a distinctive, unforgettable look and feel. The release of Final Fantasy 12 was followed by an announcement marking the start of the Ivalice Alliance series, and it is chronologically the first of the four titles in this collection.

RELATED: 8 JRPGs That Have Awesome World Building

Final Fantasy 12

The Twelfth Main Line final fantasy Game released for PS2 in 2006. It was a critical and commercial success, earning multiple Game of the Year awards. Some of the newer elements it introduced, like the controversial Jobs and Gambits systems, divided opinion. However, it was another huge, sprawling JRPG that provided hours of content for gamers. Final Fantasy 12 follows the adventures of protagonist Vaan and sky pirate Balthier during a time of war between two empires, Archadia and Rozarria.

With a typically well-crafted narrative and plenty of side content, Final Fantasy 12 was a great experience, even if its characters weren’t quite as memorable as some of the better known people from various entries. Final Fantasy 12 was not classified as part of the Ivalice Alliance collection until its 2017 re-release with the title Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age. At that point it became the first chronological entry in the collection.

Final Fantasy 12: Revenant Wings

The next game on the timeline is Final Fantasy 12: Revenant Wings. It was released for the Nintendo DS in 2007 and takes place just one year after the events of Final Fantasy 12, and again shows Vaan as a full-fledged sky pirate using his own airship. With gameplay similar to this Final Fantasy Tactics From start to finish, the game could be played with the Nintendo DS stylus, which was a common gimmick at the time. The game introduced a floating continent of lemurs and was much lighter in tone than FF12.

Final Fantasy Tactics Advance 2: Spellbook of the Rift

The third chronological game is Final Fantasy Tactics Advance 2: Spellbook of the Rift, which was released for the Nintendo DS in 2008. The game is about Luso Clemens, a young troublemaker who is magically transported to the world of Ivalice. The game also features cameos from some of the main characters Final Fantasy 12, namely Vaan and Penelo. Gameplay is broadly similar to its predecessor, with turn-based combat taking place in a grid-style arena. Although the prologue and epilogue take place in St. Ivalice, the future state of the world of Ivalice, most of the game’s events take place shortly thereafter FF12 and FF12 Revenant Wingsdue to the character Luso and his friends experiencing time travel.

TIED TOGETHER: Final Fantasy: Characters we want in the next Dissidia game

Final Fantasy Tactics: War of the Lions

Chronologically the last game in the Ivalice Alliance series Final Fantasy Tactics: War of the Lionswhich was released for the PSP in 2007. The game is an updated version of the 1997 Final Fantasy Tactics for PS1 with new playable characters, a visual overhaul and other features including unique cutscenes. It takes place over 1,000 years after the events in FF12, and finds Ivalice in a dark age due to a mysterious event known as the Cataclysm. The popular title retained everything that characterized the original Final Fantasy Tactics such a highly regarded game, including its mature tone, difficulty level and some popular game mechanics like the job system.

Other games in Ivalice

Although there are only four titles in the Ivalice Alliance, there are a few other games set in the world of Ivalice. One is from the year 2000 vagabond storya non-final fantasy Title confirmed to take place in the same universe. It was released for the PS1 as an action-adventure role-playing game, but didn’t feature shops to buy items or interact with other characters. These mechanics were highly unusual for a JRPG, but nonetheless received strong critical acclaim.

There are also Final Fantasy Tactics Ahead, This is a spin-off that takes place in a different version of Ivalice. Released for the Game Boy Advance in 2003, it introduced new characters while sharing several features with the original Final Fantasy Tacticsalthough it’s not a real sequel.

Cutting through Ivalice’s convoluted timeline, these titles all had one thing in common: their strong ratings scores. It seems that regardless of the character or adventure with which final fantasy Play set in Ivalice almost always guarantees quality. For those wanting to learn all about Ivalice, there is a wealth of content to explore.

MORE: Final Fantasy: 10 things fans don’t know about Ivalice

Leave a Comment