hit counter

Hobson, Johnston set records at the annual Orange & White Classic in Texas

Sam Kendrick’s Memorial Orange & White Classic

  • September 22, 2022
  • Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center
  • final results
  • Texas press release
  • Full results file follows

The Texas men had their second meeting of the season Thursday and competed Sam Kendricks Memorial Orange & White Classic Intrasquad at their home pool in Austin. The Orange and White Intrasquad, an annual gathering of the Longhorns, was renamed to honor the former assistant Texas swim coach and alumnus of the University of Texas.

Kendricks coached under head coach Eddie Reese in the 1980s, a decade in which he also started as an announcer for swimming competitions. He rose to prominence as an announcer for the sport and went on to become one of the most notable names in the game. Kendricks died earlier this year after being diagnosed with Merkel cell carcinoma last year.

At the 2022 edition, two encounter records were set in the form of Luke Hobson‘s 200 freestyle and David Johnston‘s 1000 Freestyle.

Hobson put up a time of 1:32.50 to win and win the event for the white team Drew Kibler‘s mark of f/33.97. Hobson was just 0.19 seconds off his own 200 freestyle best of 1:32.31 from the 2022 NCAA Championships, showing incredible form so early in the season.

Hobson, who completed a tremendous 1:45.59 long distance swim at last month’s Duel In The Pool, was nearly eight seconds faster than the 200m free run at last season’s Orange/White meeting (1:40 ,29).

Orange teams Coby Carrozza was not too far behind Hobson in the 200 free, batting a 1:33.40 for second place and Spencer Aurnou-Rhees finished third in 1:37.39.

In the 100 freestyle, David Johnston hit an 8:49.13 in the 1000 to win and reset the event for the white team Alex Zettelis 8:53.43 record.

Johnston was nearly 20 seconds faster than he was at this point last year (9:08.73) and wasn’t too far from his lifetime best of 8:43.96 set last February.

Texas Men Orange & White intrasquad hit records

swimming for the orange team, Carson Foster was the only man to record a triple win at the meet. Foster won the 200 IM in 1:42.94 along with the backstroke doubles, winning the 100 with a 46.07 and the 200 with a 1:41.76. That IM time is nearly three seconds slower than his personal best of 1:40.07 from the 2022 NCAAs.

However, Foster set a new best in the 100 backstroke, clocking 46.07 to fall below the 46.28 PB he had achieved in February 2019. In the 200 back, he was slightly better than his 1:38.00 PB earlier this year. Foster was not far from the 100 backstroke competition record of 45.49 held by Ryan Harty.

Foster’s 100 backstroke put him into the wall more than a second ahead of second place Chris O’Connor who swam a 47.20 and placed third Ethan Harder who hit a 48.05. O’Connor and Harder were both on the white team.

Caspar Corbeau, who swims for the orange team, was a two-time breaststroke champion. He won the 100 breaststroke in 52.56 and swam a 1:54.72 to win the 200 breaststroke. The runner-up was Jake Foster on the white team with 53.44 while will chan finished third with 53.48, also for the white team.

Corbeau’s two wins were both slightly slower than his pace in recent years, falling short of his competition records in the events of 51.99 and 1:53.48.

Daniel Krueger, from the white team, also had two wins when he placed first in the 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle. In the former, he was the only man to crack 20 seconds with his 19.54 and was followed by Alexei Filipovic Who swam on 20.12. Peter Larsen was right behind Filipovic with a 20.16 for third place.

Krueger kept the momentum in the 100 freestyle and was the only one in the event to clock under 44 seconds and swim a 42.78. Filipovic and Larson also went 2-3 in the 100, scoring 44.13 and 44.22, respectively.

The last double winner was Cole Crane who won the 100 (46.85) and 200 butterfly (1:45.46) for the white team while Peter Larson, Alekej Filipovic, Coby Carrozza and Caspar Corbeau won the 200m freestyle relay in 1:18.90. In the end, Team Orange won with 143 points and White with 140 points.

Leave a Comment