hit counter

Dom Izzo’s 2022 All-Missouri Valley Football Conference Team and Awards – InForum

FCS football awards season has begun, with ballots for the Missouri Valley Football Conference and statewide for the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan Awards.

MVFC will release its all-conference team next week, which will have some new faces on the roster while recognizing some good players for great years.

I’m lucky to have a vote for the tenth year in a row. The ballot I submit to the league MUST NOT include players from the state of North Dakota.

For the purpose of this story, I’m including bison players that I thought might be worth considering.

QUARTERBACK – Nic Baker – Southern Illinois (2,750 yards, 20 TDs, 7 INTs)

RUN BACK – Jaleel McLaughlin – Youngstown State and Isaiah Davis – South Dakota State


Michael Tutsie of North Dakota State grabs Isaiah Davis of South Dakota State during their football game Saturday, October 15, 2022 in Fargo.

Michael Vosburg/The Forum

FULL BACK – Hunter Luepke – State of North Dakota

CLOSE END – Tucker Kraft – State of South Dakota

OFFENSIVE LINE – Cody Mauch – North Dakota State, Mason McCormick, Garrett Greenfield – South Dakota State, Donny Ventrelli – North Dakota and Alex Jensen – South Dakota

WIDE RECEIVER – Bo Belquist – North Dakota, Bryce Oliver – Youngstown State and Avante Cox – Southern Illinois

DEFENSE LINE – Reece Winkelman and Caleb Sanders – State of South Dakota, Spencer Waege – State of North Dakota, Dylan Wudke – State of Youngstown

LINEBACKERS – Zeke Vandenburgh – State of Illinois, Adam Bock – State of South Dakota and James Kaczor – State of North Dakota

DEFENSIVE BACK – Benny Sapp – Northern Iowa, Dyshawn Gales – State of South Dakota, CJ Siegel – State of North Dakota, Michael Tutsie – State of North Dakota

FOOTBALL Matthew Cook – Northern Iowa

GAMMER – Hunter Dustman – State of South Dakota

RETURNS SPECIALIST – Jayden Price – State of North Dakota

ATTACKING PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Jaleel McLaughlin – Youngstown State

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Zeke Vandenburgh – State of Illinois

COACH OF THE YEAR – John Stiegelemeier – State of South Dakota

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Naseim Brantley – Western Illinois


Youngstown State’s Jaleel McLaughlin enters the end zone during the fourth quarter of their soccer game against North Dakota State on Saturday, October 1, 2022 at the Fargodome.

Alyssa Goelzer/The Forum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button