Title IX, giving women the right to equal opportunities in sport, was signed into law in 1972. To commemorate the 50th anniversary, Lansing State Journal will feature all 12 women’s sports in the state of Michigan in a series of articles in fall 2022.

More:A closer look at 50 years of Title IX and women’s sports at MSU

The Michigan State women’s swim and dive program became an official college sport in 1970. It wasn’t until 1978 that swimmers were finally able to use IM West as a practice facility. Before that, they had to practice at the IM Circle, as IM West was for men’s recreational use only.

As part of the program, three women were inducted into the MSU Hall of Fame for swimming and diving. The first Big Ten women’s swimming and diving championship was held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 1982. Michigan State has yet to win a team Big Ten championship, but has had 17 total individual champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *